What Is Safety Glass And What Types Are There?

Glass is a wonderful addition to any home, but it can also be dangerous should it smash or crack. Safety glass is a great way to reduce the risk of injury as well as improve the strength of your windows. What exactly is safety glass, though, and how many different types are there? We thought we would take a closer look. 

What is safety glass?

Safety glass is glass that has undergone special treatment to make it stronger and more durable. This ensures that it is far less likely to break, or shatter should it be impacted. This means it can be used in a wide range of settings, improving the safety of your home or workplace. 

What are the different types of safety glass?

When it comes to safety glass, there are three main types of options on the market, including:

Toughened/Tempered Glass

Toughened or tempered glass is created by heating annealed glass and cooling it rapidly by uniformly blowing cold air across both surfaces. This process increases the compression forces and tension inside the glass, making it four times stronger than normal glass of the same size and thickness. 

Although it is much stronger, toughened glass is not a different colour and does not have any different light transmission characteristics. 

Laminated Glass 

Laminated glass is created by placing a layer of plastic between two panes of glass. This plastic can be in a range of different colours or tints, and helps to ensure that the glass remains in place should it shatter or break. 

Wired Glass 

Another very popular style of safety glass is wired glass. This is created by placing welded wire into the molten glass. Although this does not enhance the overall strength, it does ensure that the glass will not remove upon impact. However there are questions that wired glass is not safe due to the wire in the glass.

Where is safety glass required?

Safety glass can be used across a wide array of areas, but most commonly they can be found in doors, glazing adjacent to doors, and low level glazing. Please see our safety glass regulation article.

How to identify safety glass

Safety glass classification and marking must be visible in order to be compliant. The mark must have a range of features such as:

  • The name of the manufacturer or its trademark
  • The European Standard number 
  • Classification of the EN 12600 or 6206 impact test: 2B2.
  • Safety glass marking:
    • BS EN 12150 – to identify toughened glass
    • BS EN 14449 – to identify laminated glass
    • BS EN 14179 – to identify heat soaked, thermally toughened glass

All toughened glass require a kite stamp of safety certification.

You can use a furniture stamp in some instances, shelves, table tops etc.

Our stamp is very transparent so not very visible at all really, not normally picked up.

The stamp is translucent in appearance so not intended to be seen easily. This should be to the face of 1 corner or applied to the edge of the glass if the corner was not suitable.

We can issue a manufacturers guarantee letter that the product is indeed toughened.

Shopping Basket
Scroll to Top